Canada’s online legal magazine.

Rothstein – the Committee

Ad Hoc Committee to Review a Nominee for the Supreme Court of Canada

Members of the ad hoc interview committee are:
Justice Minister Vic Toews (Conservative)
former justice minister Irwin Cotler (Liberal)
Diane Ablonczy (Conservative)
Daryl Kramp (Conservative)
Daniel Petit (Conservative)
Rob Moore (Conservative)
Sue Barnes (Liberal)
Anita Neville (Liberal)
Stephen Owen (Liberal)
Réal Ménard (Bloc Québécois)
Carole Freeman (Bloc Québécois)
Joe Comartin (NDP)

The interview take place starting at 12 noon ET, 9 a.m. PT, Monday, February 27, 2006, and will be televised on CPAC. For more information on the broadcast go to CPAC’s information page

CTV has confirmed they will also be broadcasting the entire interview on their Newsnet program. Broadcast on CBC or CBC Newsworld has not yet been confirmed.

The Rationale for an Ad Hoc Committee…
Although initially it may seem strange that an ad hoc committee is meeting to consider the new candidate for appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada, Parliament has not been in session since it was dissolved before the election of January 23, 2006. [See: The Canadian Encyclopedia.] If Parliament has not yet been called then its committees have not yet been formed and cannot sit. The House Leader has negotiated with the other parties to assemble a group of MPs, drawn from all parties, who will operate under rules agreed to by the parties, and which will resemble normal parliamentary rules.