LSUC’s Your Law Video Series: Certified Specialist

A new video about the Certified Specialist designation for lawyers was released last week by the Law Society of Upper Canada. This is the seventh video in the series aimed at the public.

From the January 22, 2013 press release:

In the new video, the seventh of the series, Certified Specialists highlight how the public can benefit from hiring a lawyer who is recognized by the Law Society for their specialization in an area of practice.

Offered by the Law Society for several years, the Certified Specialist Program recognizes lawyers who have met high established standards of experience and knowledge requirements in designated areas of law and who have maintained exemplary standards of professional practice.

To be eligible for certification, lawyers must have at least seven years of experience — five of which are in their specialty area.

“Achieving certification is the formal, public recognition of ongoing distinction and achievement in a chosen field of law,” Certified Specialist Board Chair and Law Society Bencher Janet Leiper says.

“When a member of the public hires a Certified Specialist for their legal matter, they are hiring a recognized and experienced leader in a particular field of law who has met high standards of competence and professionalism.”

The full list of topics from Your Law:

Certified Specialist Program
Family Law: Custody and Child Support
Family Law: Spousal Support and Property
Personal Injury
Real Estate
Wills and Estates

Comments are closed.