The Walter Owen Book Prize Is Now Accepting Submissions

The Walter Owen Book Prize, awarded by the Canadian Foundation For Legal Research, recognizes exceptional legal research and writing that contribute significantly to Canadian legal literature.

The Prize, now $15,000.00, was created in celebration of the life of Walter Owen, Q.C., P.C., prominent member of the Law Society of British Columbia, former Lieutenant Governor of that province, past President of the Canadian Bar Association and founding President of what is now the Canadian Foundation For Legal Research.


  • A book, substantial in nature, which is an entirely new work (or a previous title’s complete revision), judged by the Prize Jury to contribute to current Canadian legal literature by enhancing the quality of legal research in Canada and being highly valued by law practitioners, academics and the judiciary.
  • The book must have been published in the two-year period preceding the year when the Prize is awarded.
  • The Prize is awarded in alternating years for works written in English (odd-numbered years) and French (even-numbered years).
  • Co-authors are recognized as nominees.


  • Deadline for submissions is March 15, 2019.
  • Submissions must comprise one copy of a book accompanied by a statement of 200 words or less explaining how the book meets the Prize eligibility requirements. (At conclusion of the competition, the books will not be returned to individuals or publishing companies that submitted them.)
  • Submissions must be made with the author’s consent.
  • Submissions must be sent to the attention of the Jury Chair:

John N. Davis
Osgoode Hall Law School of York University
4700 Keele Street Toronto, Ontario M3J 1P3
Email to:
For further information, please visit:

Comments are closed.