CanLII Wins the 2021 Hugh Lawford Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing

The Canadian Association of Law Libraries / Association canadienne des bibliotheques de droit (CALL/ACBD) is pleased to announce thatThe CanLII Manual to British Columbia Civil Litigation, by Brent Anderson et al, John Fiddick and Cameron Wardell (eds.) is the winner of the 2021 Hugh Lawford Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing!

This resource is a volunteer-written, open access publication that supports legal professionals and self-represented litigants with their civil justice research. It consists of nine “pathfinders” dealing with specific areas of the law, a guide to civil procedure at the BC Supreme Court, and annotated rules of court for both the BC Supreme Court and the Court of Appeal.

It was designed with dual audiences in mind – self-represented litigants and other members of the public looking for legal information, as well as professional users such as lawyers, students, and librarians. The CanLII Manual to British Columbia Civil Litigation is easy to navigate and is fully integrated with the CanLII database. It is an important contribution to the BC legal information landscape, as well as to the access to justice and open access movements.

The Award, which was announced Friday, May 28, during the Awards Ceremony at CALL/ACBD’s Virtual Conference, is named after the late Hugh Lawford, law professor at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario and founder of Quicklaw.

Congratulations to CanLII and everyone who participated in this project, including our friends Steve and Emma of Stem Legal who are highlighted in the acknowledgments! All the contributors can take pride in winning this award.

Congratulations to all this year’s nominees:

LexisNexis Canada, for Sentencing, 10th edition, by Clayton C. Ruby
University of Alberta Press, for Laws of the Constitution: Consolidated, by Donald Bur
vLex for vLex Justis

As the nearly Past President of CALL/ACBD, my thanks go to Ann Marie Melvie, Past President of our association and her selection committee.

Comments are closed.