The Christine Huglo Robertson Essay Prize

This prize honours Christine Huglo Robertson, Executive Director of the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice (CIAJ) between 1992 and 2012. Its goal is to engage law students in the work of CIAJ and to promote scholarship concerning the administration of justice.


Competition for the prize is open only to students registered for an undergraduate degree (J.D., LL.B. or B.C.L.) a Faculty of Law at a Canadian university and only for a paper written in the twelve months preceding the closing date for submissions. Papers submitted for academic credit may be submitted for this prize. Candidates must provide confirmation of their academic registration, including a statement of the date at which the text was written, and they must attest that the paper has not been submitted elsewhere, in whole or in part, for publication or a prize.


The prize is awarded annually for an original paper, previously unpublished, on a topic relating to the administration of justice. Candidates are STRONGLY encouraged to consider subjects relating to the theme of CIAJ’s Annual Conference scheduled in October. The theme for the 2016 conference to be held in Ottawa (ON) from October 5 to 7 is: Civil Justice and Economics: A Matter of Value.

Papers in French or English must be no more than 7500 words, including notes and tables. They must be in a format compatible with Microsoft Word. The candidate’s name and university should appear on the cover of the paper but the text must not otherwise identify the author of the submission.


A committee will select the best paper. It must be of publishable quality and make a significant contribution to scholarship concerning the administration of justice. CIAJ will not award the prize if there is no text of sufficient merit. CIAJ will publish the paper in digital or printed form. Copyright will remain with CIAJ. The author will be invited to the annual meeting of CIAJ in October 2016 and may be invited to present the paper on that occasion. CIAJ will provide to the recipient: travel, accommodation and registration to the 2016 Annual Conference in Ottawa, and a stipend of $500.

Submissions must be received by e-mail at no later than June 17, 2016. An announcement of the prize will be made early July.

Comments are closed.